Must have back country items?

SSGH11B

Im fairly new to backcountry camping. That being said, I've only done 4 overnight hikes in the Smokies. Everytime my pack weight ranges from 35 to 55 pounds. Im looking for tips to lighten the overall weight, and some absolute "Must-have" items.

oldsarge

Welcome to OBC Staff! I'm sure you will get some great feedback soon. There are some highly skilled folks here with ton of experience. As an 11B I'm sure you've had enough of those heavy rucks...time to lighten up and enjoy the outdoors!

SSGH11B

Thanks for the heads up, Im looking at lightening my overall load though. In the army we were always told what we needed to carry, and most of it was absolutely useless for the most part. In theater my body armor weighed 82lbs, and we just deal with it. SO folling my old grunt ways on my own personal hikes... I just tighten my shoes and drive on no matter how heavy. Unfortunately, my back and knees don't agree with that mentality anymore. Looking into ultralite techniques and decreasing my base weight to around 20lbs.

Grandpa

All the people I backpack with develop "systems." Sleeping systems, eating systems, hydration systems, etc. This helps us to pare out all that stuff that doesn't fit in the system. An example is the sleep system. Tent? Hammock? Bare ground? Whatever system you decide on for that trip, leave the other stuff home. With minimal cash outlay, your sleep system should be under 9 lbs. With some better stuff, 6 lbs. I carry a 3 lb tent, 2 lb bag, and either a 1 lb insulated air core or a 1 1/2 lb thermarest.