Road bike suggestions

Denicreg

Hi everyone! I'm currently thinking of buying a road bike for my commute to to work and college. As its my first road bike, im only experimenting so nothing too pricey... yet! I'm 6"2 and 18 years old, so does anyone have any suggestions? I'm really looking to spend under 500 as im a newbie! If not, any suggestions on websites,?

Northern Dancer

Hi "Denicreg", welcome.
I bought a bike three years ago to get me out of the chair and be more active. The reality is there are so many choices out there it was really difficult to select. So...what I recommend for these kinds of purchases is research and lots of it. Styles will depend upon what you are going to use it for and in what kind of environment. There are road bikes, mountain bikes, hybrid commuter bikes, cyclocross bikes, folding bikes, and so on. You might want to look at the hybrid commuter bikes first. Have fun doing this because it isn't 10-minute research. Check out the stocks of local stores and get a "look at"and read the pamphlets etc. And as I say, Always Buy on Sale. Read the consumer's reports and check with people you know who already have a bike. Oh, and another thing, I learned that body measurement/height is important when selecting a bike. Let us know how you are doing. Good luck. :Smile2:

Roybrew