Beef stew help!

SusieQ

Looking for some advice on how to make beef stew. I make veggie beef soup but I've never tried to make stew before. What do you use to thicken the broth - you know so it's stew. When do you do this? Can I just make regular soup and then thicken it right before we eat?

Pathfinder1

Looking for some advice on how to make beef stew. I make veggie beef soup but I've never tried to make stew before. What do you use to thicken the broth - you know so it's stew. When do you do this? Can I just make regular soup and then thicken it right before we eat?

Hi...

I do all my cooking stovetop. When making beef stew, I first brown the meat on all sides (which isn't absolutely necessary). Then add water or broth and veggies.

I recommend cooking it very slowly (braising). If you require more thickening, mix a little (at a time) corn starch with a ittle cold water and add to the mix while stirring.

Happy dining...!!

campclose

You can make this in the slow cooker. I brown the meat first (both sides) and then toss in everything (veggies, onions, broth, meat, potatoes). I let it cook for hours and then about an hour before we eat I start making the broth thicker. I use a flour/water mixture.

CozInCowtown

My Beef Stew.

1 pound ground beef.
1 can Ranch Style beans.
1 can whole corn.
1 can black beans.
1 can Rotel / chili fixins.
1 package Ranch dressing mix (package of powder)
1 can water.

Brown the meat, dump in everything else, bring to boil, serve!

ponderosa

If you dredge the stew meat in a little flour before browning, and then stir in your liquid, the flour will give the broth some of that good gravy color and texture as it stews. Use less liquid than you would normally use for soup. If it isn't thick enough for you, you can always stir in a little flour or cornstarch (dissolved well in water) in the last 30 minutes or so of cooking.

Marlowe