Winter camping?

campclose

Has anyone camped in the winter? I have never done this before and would love to (I think). I was just researching winter camping. It looks pretty fun. You can go skiing, snow tubing, sledding, and hiking in the snow. I love to do all of those things. I’m thinking it would mean no tent camping as it is too cold in NY to be staying in a tent.
How about renting a cabin or taking a camper.
I’d love to hear about your stories with winter camping. Am I crazy to want to give it a try?

Sky

No you aren't crazy at all. Winter camping is very common. Especially, for the sports you mentioned above. Not everybody goes for the hotel or lodge overnights. We personally love to rent a cabin out for a couple of nights. We love sitting in front of the fireplace on a cold night and also soaking in the jacuzzi.

2coastcamper

Wow, I love winder camping. It always seems more peaceful. The last time I went, it only snowed a few flakes, but the night got quite cold ... I was alone, with only my dog, and in a dome tent. But I had very warm clothes and a good sleeping bag ... those are crucial.

As for taking a camper or getting a cabin ... there will be nothing really to worry about there. You'll be more than able to stay warm enough.

calanta

Honestly I like cooler nights and days to camp rather than hot and sticky ones, even though I tend to do both its more towards the cooler times. I started doing this on a dare when I was a teen, I guess it stuck around.

firefly

I have camped in Florida in the winter. But I have never camped in the snow. I have always wanted to rent a cabin up in the mountains. I don`t know how to snow ski but it sure would be fun to go sledding.

jason

fear no beer
You can get cold weather sleeping bags and tents.