Meet Oldsarge

jason

fear no beer
As part of our New Years hurrah we have a special segment. Getting to know your armed assailant. (bonus points for those who know where the quote is from) But on a more serious note, I thought it may be fun to have a member interviewed each month. This month Oldsarge has volunteered to be victi... err interviewed. Maybe if we ask kindly he may answer some more questions for us and we can grow our interview base questions.

So lets meet Oldsarge.

Tell us a little about yourself?

Born and raised in northeast Illinois. I reside there now after a short time in the military. I am a welder by trade and presently work for BakerCorp. I enjoy shooting, martial arts, hiking, camping, kayaking and backpacking. Not to mention hanging out in my man cave or as I call it The"CP" (command post) listening to music and playing pool while having a few drinks every now and then.

When did you start spending time outdoors?

After the passing of my father when I was 9, I had an uncle who took my aunt and cousins camping regularly. This is where I got the outdoor bug. As I grew up, we had a local forest preserve just down the block from my house. My friends and I spent a lot of time hiking around and partying out there.

What is your earliest memories of the outdoors?

It has to be my Dad's company picnics that took place in the forest preserve I mentioned earlier. There's just something about the woods that drew me to them.

Did you have any mentors when learning your outdoor activity?

Well, it had to be my Uncles who took me and my cousins out. Any other learning was done by me reading about it.

Do you have a favorite memorable moment?

Another uncle who took me out after my fathers passing. We would buy a bucket of Kentucky Fried Chicken, then my cousin and I would hike around slinging chicken bones around the woods as we ate. That and the time I spent in Alaska with a buddy prospecting for gold. what a great experience.