Tent/Canoe Camping Likes

Northern Dancer

THINGS I LIKE ABOUT TENT/CANOE CAMPING

Camping/Canoeing has made me a lot calmer, relaxed, happier, and respectful of the great outdoors.
I've come to realize what little I need to take care of myself in a possibly hostile environment.
Time becomes irrelevant, other than getting there on time and getting back to the office on time. [Missed a few.]
I don't need a watch, my body seems to adjust to nature's time.
I get an incredible sleep that I don't get at home.

...to name a few.

ppine

Forester
Good thoughts.
But some canoeing is very challenging and not relaxing. That would include large lakes with a lot of fetch and exposed crossings or rivers with lots of rocks and high gradients. Most of our trips have had some tension and release.

Roybrew

I'm planning a simple 2 nights away next week. Going to reserve a boat in site on a North Carolina lake. Pack light and take the canoe.

My wife doesn't get it. I can't explain, I'm not good at that kind of thing. She's used to me going on camping fishing trips with my brother, but he can't make it. So it's solo for me, and I'm looking forward to it.
Roy

Northern Dancer

I'm planning a simple 2 nights away next week. Going to reserve a boat in site on a North Carolina lake. Pack light and take the canoe.

My wife doesn't get it. I can't explain, I'm not good at that kind of thing. She's used to me going on camping fishing trips with my brother, but he can't make it. So it's solo for me, and I'm looking forward to it.
Roy