TOP SECRET thread on stealth camping....SSShhhhh!

Lorax

Remember.....you saw nothing and you were never here.

I've been talking to a few friends of mine on the subject and have seen a few threads on various forums about it. Most have done it.

From time to time, I have camped in secrecy among the state forests due to a few factors. Either time constraints, small campground closures or seasons where the smaller campgrounds are closed up.
I have come across well established stealth campsites that have been used for years judging by the tent pad and fire ring. I have also walked up on a few.

I'll do it on a rare occasion, usually solo and practice LNT by not moving, cutting anything or having a fire. Sometimes there is just no other option for me, especially if I have one night free and can't see driving hours just to turn around and drive back the next day.

Anyone have experiences?

ppine

Forester
I have lots of experiences, but they are too secret to divulge.

I must recount the story of the Maryland Hillbillies again because it still makes me laugh. Four college kids in a Camaro drove to Miami from U of Md for spring break. We drove 22 hours and got really tired ending up in Key Biscayne. We found a nice park at night, set up the umbrella tent circa 1969, cooked chicken on the hibatchi and went to sleep. When we we woke up we were on the grounds of a large estate with a front gate. We left in a hurry at first light.

Judy Ann

I would be to scared of being discovered in the middle of the night, but I woke up one morning in a state park near Linville Gorge, NC with two separate groups stealth camping 50 yards from me right by the firewood pile. They were very quiet!!!

wvbreamfisherman

Can't really say that I've done stealth camping, although we did set up camp one nght on the Cranberry river about 10:30 in the evening (we left for camp after work) and woke to find the tent right under a big yellow and black "Campsite Closed" sign.